Cybersecurity Laws in the United States

Cybersecurity has become a crucial area for any state when it comes to making laws and implementing them. It is more important than ever, as the internet, information technology, and computers have become an important part of our lives. Cybersecurity is increasingly becoming a focus area for legislators, especially for the public sector, healthcare, education, finance, and what not?

What do cybersecurity laws cover?

Cybercrime incorprates acts to target systems and networks  for monetary profit or to cause disruption through cyber attacks. Any System can become a target of cyberattacks through some ransomware, virus, phishing and malware. Cybersecurity laws and guidelines center around some regular matters that emerge from cyber threats. These matters include a focus on criminal activity, corporate governance, insurance matters, and  law implementation locale.

Following are some activities which are made criminal by cybersecurity laws in the state.

  • Computer/ system hacking,
  • Data fraud,
  • Accessing and using unauthorized data,
  • Stealing confidential and private data,
  • Unauthorized publication or use of communications,
  • Criminal infringement of copyright and other intellectual property rights through internet,
  • Spreading of fake news,
  • Sexual exploitation of children and minors,
  • Defacing internet websites,

Current cybersecurity laws in US

The United States cyber security laws and privacy system is said to be a robust and effective system. The purpose of cyber security regulation is to safeguards information technology and computer systems. In order to strengthen cyber security laws in the country, the government is introducing several new cyber security laws as well as amending the older ones for a better security ecosystem. Below are a few of them:

  • Cybersecurity Information Sharing Act (CISA)

The bill was introduced in the U.S. Senate on October 27, 2015 with an objective to improve cybersecurity in the United States through enhanced sharing of information about cybersecurity threats, and for different purposes. The law permits the sharing of Internet traffic data between the U.S. government and innovation and assembling organizations.

  • Cybersecurity Enhancement Act of 2014:

This act provides a progressing, voluntary public-private organization to improve cybersecurity and strengthen cybersecurity research and development, workforce development and education and public awareness and readiness

  • Federal Exchange Data Breach Notification Act of 2015:

This bill requires a health insurance exchange to notify each individual whose personal information is known to have been gained or accessed as a result of a breach of security of any system maintained by the exchange as soon as possible but not later than 60 days after discovery of the breach.

  • National Cybersecurity Protection Advancement Act of 2015:

This law amends the Homeland Security Act of 2002 to permit the Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS’s) national cyber security and communications integration center (NCCIC) to incorporate tribal governments, information sharing, and analysis centers, and private entities among  its non-administrative agents.

The United States has no single federal law that regulates information security, cybersecurity, and privacy throughout the country. However, Several states have their own cybersecurity laws in addition to data breach notification laws. These areas are currently regulated by a patchwork of industry-specific federal laws and state legislation, with varying scope and jurisdiction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *